Budget Bridal Shower

23 Aug

Coffee and crafts...

Coffee and crafts, my two addictions...

My first blog! I recently had the very fun honor of decorating a bridal shower for the most amazing cousin-in-law/friend a girl could ask for. I love decorating for events and do so every chance I get, regardless of whether I have to beg, borrow, but not quite steal (do leaves from a neighbor’s garden count?) to get it all done. There have been so many amazing blogs and sites that I’ve drawn inspiration from that I really wanted to share my take on a modern and romantic bridal shower on a budget. I hope you enjoy it!

Event: Bridal Shower

Budget: $195

Guests: 38

I usually start with an inspiration board (or nine) to get the creative juices flowing. I wanted the shower to really reflect the bride, who is a perfect mix of girly and fun. I imagined that she would love something very pink and black, with feathers and lots of glamorous details. So I created some inspiration boards and sent them out to the other bridesmaids to get some feedback. Unfortunately I already deleted them but I’ll try to post some others in future blogs.

One of the girls was really partial to a “cherry” theme board that I made and after looking at her bridal registry I realized that her decorating style seemed to have a much more modern and sleek sensibility. (I’d never even thought of referring to her registry to get ideas for the décor!) So here’s the really quick board I did for that one:

cherry themeI really loved the table setting and wanted to figure out how to emulate it a little more economically. The red chiavari chairs, which I love, would have eaten up the entire budget and were not easy to track down.  So instead I focused on how I could get crafty and have a similar effect.

I happened to run across this gorgeous Chanel paper flower runway decor, which made me really want to do something with paper flowers.

Chanel Runway 1

Chanel Runway 2

I wish I had had the time and talent to do these, but I settled on something a little easier:

red paper flower

Even though I’d originally wanted to use various vases with red fabric wrapped around them, I thought these looked fun and unique, and they fit the look of my inspiration table setting. They’re surprisingly easy to make and very inexpensive, around $2.50 for a pack of red tissue paper, I bought 4 and still have some left over. I also had a bunch of white tissue paper so those were free :) Here’s a quick link on how to make them:

http://www.howcast.com/videos/288-How-To-Make-Tissue-Paper-Flowers

I used paper clips, and when I ran out twist ties, instead of the pipe cleaners. I also experimented with different cuts instead of the v-shape and I think it’s easier to cut once folded.

I made three large and three small flowers for each table and extras to place around the room and on the food and drink tables.

For the runners, I bought red fabric from a local discount fabric store on sale for $2 per yard. (We ended up buying around 16 yds, so around $32 total) I measured and cut the fabric and used fabric glue and an iron to clean up the seams.

The paper plates were from Target,  (around $35 total, including napkins)and I bought the favor boxes from Michael’s in a diy kit from the Brides collection for $20. We stuffed these with tissue paper and Ferraro Rocher chocolates totaling $40. (Damn those things are yummy!)

We used paper napkins and folded them like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHkbOV_OeOo

Then I created a monogram and designs for a simple napkin holder and printed them on heavy weight paper for a customized feel.

Here’s how it came together:

Table Setup

I ended up putting the napkins on the plate and placing the favors on the table though and you can kind of see the napkin rings on the bottom left hand side of the picture.

To fill up a large empty wall I created a “tree” using construction paper I bought in packets of red, black and white for $3.75 a packet. Using a circle cutter I cut 2″, 3″ and 5″ circles and free-hand cut the trunk and branches as I went along. Th only thing I wish I’d done differently was to use double sided tape instead of just taping over everything, but it was late and by the time I realized it was going to work (I originally intended to test drive it first) I was too tired to redo the whole thing. Here’s how that came out:

Tree

We also seriously scored on the paper lanterns as a friend had some left over from her wedding and we used those, hanging I think somewhere around 40 overall. (Thank you my wonderful hubby for hanging most of those and my awesome MIL for helping so much and putting up with my craziness, lol!)

I was loving the little circles, so in the middle of another wall by the entry I wrote:

Now that we’re

all gathered inside

share some words

of advice for the bride

I taped white circles all around it, making sure not to go too high. It was really fun (and a little tear jerking) to read what everyone wrote. Here’s my mom giving her advice:

Mom Giving Advice

I also made another sign for the front that read:

She’s all grown up

but still giggling with glee

come in and celebrate

the sweetest bride to be…

Both of those were inspired from the wording in her invitations (I’ll try to post pictures later).

The bride’s aunt also made this fun cake for her and let me tell ya, it tasted as good as it looked!

Cake

TP Brides

The Beautiful Bride-to-be and her TP court

The paper flowers ended up doubling as decorations in one of the games we played too :)

Oh, I almost forgot the signature drink (and the only place the original cherry idea was actually incorporated), cherry limeaid margaritas. We almost ran out, and considering how much we made, I think they were a hit.

Scaled down recipe for cherry limeade margaritas:

1  1/2 pounds of frozen unsweetened cherries, thawed and drained.

1 cup fresh lime juice

1/2 cup sugar

3 cups water

5 oz tequila

2.5 oz triple sec

In a blender, combine cherries, lime juice, and sugar; whirl until smooth. Press through a fine strainer into a pitcher extracting as much liquid as possible; discard residue. Stir in 3 cups cold water, tequila and triple sec and serve over ice.

We bought red roses in bulk at Costco for $24. We put those in front of the fireplace and in the sconces above the mantle. We also got a mixed bouquet there for $12 and used it near the entry. I used some of the flowers from the mix in the bathroom too. The bride’s awesome brother and his amazing girlfriend hooked us up with free chairs and tables too!

Here are some more random pictures:

Overall 1

Overall 2

Overall 3

I think that about covers it. Thanks so much for bearing with me through my first post! Up next: A Father’s Day BBQ celebration…

One Response to “Budget Bridal Shower”

  1. Vanessa March 21, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

    Gorgeous!! Thanks s much for sharing this! I’m lookin for ideas for my sister-in-laws bridal shower so this is really helpful! I love it :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

