Divine Ducky Baby Shower

26 Aug

Hostess With the Mostess has some of the cutest baby shower decor ideas on the web. I first ran across the site looking for ideas for a baby shower when I spotted this great Bubbly Ducky Baby Shower spread.

Considering that we had over 40 guests, I couldn’t quite set up the tables in such a beautiful way without shelling out some serious cash. So here’s my take on a more bugdet friendly version for a large number of guests.

Event: Baby Shower

Guests: 45

Budget: $253 ($165 without gift bags)

Discount fabric stores and wholesale florists that are open to the public are two of my favorite places to browse for inspiration and fantastic deals. I found some great brown fabric for $1 per yard so I bought 15 yds (just in case) and used them as table covers, for the dessert bar and other miscellaneous table tops. I also bought some pretty bright blue disposable table covers, paper plates and cups ($40 total) to break up the brown a bit.

For the centerpieces, I tweaked the Hostess’ design a bit and came up with this:

Centerpieces

Centerpieces

It’s not the best picture, but you get the idea. Four of these were sufficient for the tables and they were really easy and fun to make. Since I already had the bubbleball glass bowl vases (well, I only had one, but I borrowed some from family) they were really inexpensive.  The bowls are pretty cheap though, around $5 or so. Save-on-Crafts has them starting at $2.99 for the 4  3/4″ vases.

Packets of Styrofoam balls, if I remember right, in 1″, 1  1/2″ and 2″ sizes were about $10 total. The Styrofoam balls come in packets so there were some left over for future projects too 🙂 The clear balls, which I just found out are really called clear fillable ornament balls , came in two pieces.  (For another party, I filled them with small flowers and hung them from a tree.) Michael’s had them at $1 a piece for the 2″ and  3″ sizes, so I bought 12.

The rubber duckies in, various sizes and colors (pink, purple, blue, yellow, and green), came in a packet of 12 from K-Mart for $10 a bag. Two of those were plenty.

We mixed the water and food coloring in a pitcher, to make sure all the centerpieces had the same coloring, added a little water to each bowl, dropped in the balls and topped it all off with a ducky.

I think the floral centerpieces came out great and here’s where the good florist comes in handy. We asked ours what was in season and well priced. She suggested ranunculas, aka Persian Buttercups.  She also told us that white stock flowers were also always a good choice and that she had an overstock of pink roses. The total for 2 dozen pink roses, 6 stems of ranunculus and one batch of white stock was around $33. For this version, I bought Wet Oasis floral foam ( 4 bricks for $5), prepped the foam and stuck in the flowers. To conceal the edges I got some leaves from a neighbor’s yard, bent them in half and attached them to the foam with toothpicks and green floral wire, voila!

Cookie Bar

Cookie Bar

For the second centerpiece, I lined the sides of the vase with the leaves, filled it with water and some foam to keep the leaves in place and then arranged the flowers. The unopened ranunculus looked great as a kind of frame around the flowers.

Top View

Top View

Side View

Side View

Four packets of ice blue vase gems ($1.20 for a packet of 24) scattered around different tabletops gave them a little extra oomph.

Since it was more of a bring the whole family co-ed baby shower, some blue gift bags filled with goodies from the dollar store for the kids kept them occupied and happy…for about 10 minutes anyway 😉 For the adults, we used the same bags but filled them with adult goodies, like an orchid from Costco or a travel set from Bath and Body Works. You can kind of see them in the background of this picture.

BS Gift Bags

Total cost for 8 kid’s gift bag $4o and 4 adult gift bags $48. (We splurged a little here, but who really needs another vanilla scented candle or Dollar Store fake gold frame! That’s actually one of my pet peeves about party favors. They don’t have to be extravagant or anything but sometimes it just feels like people get things for the sake of getting them and end up wasting money on something the guest will eventually throw out. My rule of thumb, NO TRINKETS! Unless it’s a destination wedding and you’re giving guests more of a souvenir. That’s why I love plants, edibles, travel size soaps or lotions instead. Actually, I just realized a small pot of basil of lavender would be a really great idea for a gift bag! I’m off my soap box now.)

Well, thanks for visiting! Let me know if you have any ideas you’d like to share or try out.

Ducky Baby Shower Cake

Setting up the dessert table

Setting up the dessert table

Love the lighting in this pic!

Love the lighting in this pic!

Leave a Reply

