Pumpkin Carving Patterns

26 Oct

I’m carving pumpkins for the party and I found this site for pumpkin stencils. They’re not exactly horrifying, but they’re definitely fun and kid friendly. So far, I’ve carved the skull and am planning on trying the night scene next. Happy carving!

DLTK Halloween Pumpkin Carving Patterns.

Update: Check out our pumpkins, I think they came out great! What a pain though. We actually had to do two batches because our first molded after just 2 days! That was disappointing. We’d kept them in a relatively cool dry space, but whatever, damn you mold!!! 🙂

Creepy Carnival 070

Creepy Carnival 080

pumpkin3

pumpkin2

I think carving into the skin in much easier than the traditional method. It may take a little (or a couple hours) longer, but I’m twisted like that so I didn’t really mind. Here’s what I did:

First, I printed and pinned the picture and some text to the pumpkin.

Pumpkin Carving

Then, and here’s the painstaking part, I poked mini holes all around the picture so I knew what to scrape later.

Creepy Carnival 061

Creepy Carnival 060

It’s a little tough to see but this is what it looks like after I’d finished poking the crap out of the poor pumpkin:

Creepy Carnival 065And finally, the scraping. We used general wood carving tools (way better than those cheap and cheesy kits) and scraped the outline first to get a better idea of the basic shape. Once the outline and details were finished I scraped some more pulp on the inside to create thinner walls for a better glow.

Creepy Carnival 068

All done!

Leave a Reply

