Found Objects Thanksgiving Decor

27 Nov

After having decorated for the Thank You Dinner for our parents, I decided I wanted to do another table setting using a bouquet of flowers and found objects around the house. Thanksgiving at my mom’s house this year presented a perfect opportunity to do so and here’s what my sister and I came up with.

We really wanted to create a mix of modern and traditional so we re-purposed these decorative vases. We took apart the bouquet and cut some stems from her pomegranate tree to fill them. Instead of using a runner, we arranged the eucalyptus and sunflowers around the centerpiece. I wasn’t too sure about the satin red table cover, but it’s what we had and I thought it would work much better than white. I’m also learning that what may begin to look cluttered in person translates very differently in photos. I think I need to start adding more elements to the table to keep it from looking sparse.

For the place settings we just folded napkin pockets and then tied raffia in a bow. Some daisies from mom’s garden complemented the yellow sunflowers.

My hubby N took this shot and I really like this angle.

We decided to create a buffet and using material from my wedding and household objects (a pot, ice bucket, bowl and box) to create height. Then we went around the house looking for decorative pieces. I really love how it all came together and the lighting in this pic is really stunning.

Here’s a close-up of the super yummy turkey and lamb mom made.

After dinner, I rearranged the centerpiece in a corner for mom.

And finally, my cherry blueberry pie from All Recipes and Green Beans from Food Network.  Although most of the food was mowed, we still have leftover turkey and homemade cranberry sauce so I can make a yummy sandwich for lunch today. Happy Turkey Day everybody!

Leave a Reply

